Friday, March 16, 2012

Makeup Of PRVWSD Board Of Directors

A recent comment was made raising the question of how the PRVWSD board is appointed.

The comment:

So anyone know who might seek these types of positions? TRN can you provide the process through which one might explore the appointment to this position? Or is it a secret? 

No secret.  The board structure is defined by Mississippi State Law, specifically section § 51-9-107. The pertinent sections of the law are shown below but a condensed explanation follows.

The District is made up of 5 counties:  Hinds, Rankin, Scott, Leake and Madison.  Each of those counties appoints 2 people to sit on the PRVWSD Board.

The first appointee is made directly by the Board of Supervisors from each county.  The second person is appointed by the governor from a list of 3 names submitted by the BOS.  The appointee is chosen by the governor to sit on the Pearl River Industrial Commission but that appointment also sits on the PRVWSD board.

So, 5 counties with 2 appointees accounts for 10 people on the 14 person board.

The remaining four seats come from state agencies,  each agency listed gets one  appointee: the Mississippi Department of Wildlife Fisheries and Parks, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality, the Mississippi State Department of Health and the Mississippi Forestry Department.

Section § 51-9-1 of the Mississippi Code defines membership into the Pearl River Industrial Commission.  That portion of the law states that the member of the Commission appointed by Rankin County must be a leaseholder of property from the PRVWSD. 

The text from the Mississippi Code:

§ 51-9-107. Board of directors
All powers of the district shall be exercised by a board of directors, to be composed of the following:

(a) Each member of the Pearl River Industrial Commission whose county becomes a part of the Pearl River Valley Water Supply District shall be a member of the Board of Directors of the Pearl River Valley Water Supply District. Such directors shall serve on this board during their term of office on the Pearl River Industrial Commission. In addition the board of supervisors of each county which becomes a part of the district shall appoint one (1) additional member.

(b) The Mississippi Commission on Environmental Quality, the Mississippi Commission on Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks, Forestry Commission and the State Board of Health of the State of Mississippi shall each appoint one (1) director from that department to serve on the Board of Directors of the Pearl River Valley Water Supply District to serve at the pleasure of the respective board appointing him.

The Rez News
Barnett Reservoir


Anonymous said...

Nice piece. Thanks for answering the question.

Darryl Hamilton said...

Wouldn't it make sense for members from the other counties beside Rankin also be leaseholders? Seems so to me...