Friday, January 18, 2013

Justice Court Judge Redistricting Map

Below is the proposed Justice Court Judge Redistricting map.  Rankin County has four Justice Court Judges:  John Shirley, Ken Fairly, Josh McCrory, and Richard Redfern.  The number of Justice Court judges per county is based on population.  See Miss. Code Ann. 11-9-1.  The jurisdiction of Justice Court is limited to civil matters where the amount in controversy is $3,500.00, or less.  Miss. Code Ann. 11-9-9.  Justice Court judges also have authority to hear certain criminal matters.  Miss. Const. Art 6, sec. 171.

The Judges are elected from separate districts; however, jurisdiction is county-wide.  In other words, if you file a justice court suit, you will not automatically have John Shirley as your judge just because you live in Beaver Run Subdivision.

Qualifications for office are as follows:  at least a High School Diploma (or its equivalent) and a resident of county for at least 2 years.  Miss. Const. Art 6, sec. 171.  In my opinion, we are fortunate in Rankin County to have four well-qualified, practicing lawyers behind the bench.

Rankin County Justice Court website.

No comments: