Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Election Results

The long and short is Rankin County turned out for the Republican ticket again.  61,983 total votes were cast in Rankin County on November 8, 2016. That includes absentee votes, but not affidavit votes.

Surprisingly, that number is down from 2012 general election numbers.  In 2012, 64,433 total votes were cast. That includes 563 affidavit votes. In 2016, 1,267 more absentee ballots were cast.

2016 total votes for GOP nominee = 46,168
2012 total votes for GOP nominee = 48,444

2016 total votes for DEM nominee = 13,741
2012 total votes for DEM nominee = 14,988

6,041 more people cast a vote for Congressman Harper in 2012 than they did in 2016. Note: There was no Democratic nominee for congress in 2012.

Eric Baldwin remains Election Commissioner for District 4.  He survived a tough battle with Patty Hodges.  Eric pulled 52% of the vote.  He survived a similar battle 4 years ago against Shelton McKay. Eric got 56% of the vote in 2012.

Dean Scott is likely the new Election Commissioner for District 1.  In the closest battle in the County, he pulled 4,834 votes to Brian Baughman's 4,682 votes.

John McLaurin remains Chancellor, pulling 76% of the vote.

In the Mississippi Supreme Court race, Kenny Griffis won Rankin County, but lost the District-wide race to incumbent Justice Jim Kitchens. Kitchens pulled 27,857 votes (47.55% of the vote) to Griffis' 30,620 votes (52.26% of the vote).

It appears Ed Hannan will enter a run-off with Jack Wilson for the Court of Appeals.  Wilson won Rankin County with 27,246 votes, while Hannan garnered 20,879 votes. If there is a run-off in this race, it will be the only run-off in Rankin County.  That vote will take place on Tuesday, November 29, 2016.

The individual precinct with the most votes = East Crossgates, narrowly beating out Castlewoods West 2,462 to 2,428 votes.

The individual precinct with the least votes = Mayton with 171 total votes.

2012 Precinct level results
2016 Precinct level results
2012 General results
2016 General results

No comments: