Monday, September 25, 2017

Jennifer Hall New President of PRVWSD Board of Directors

The Rez News gives its appreciation to Jack Winstead, who served as the President of the PRVWSD Board of Directors for eleven years.  Below is the PRVWSD's press release concerning the passing of the gavel.

Media Release
For Immediate Release
22 September 2017
Hall elected head of PRVWSD Board
Reservoir resident named ninth President

Jennifer Hall of Brandon on Thursday was elected President of the Board of Directors of the Pearl River Valley Water Supply District, the state agency that oversees operation of Barnett Reservoir.

Hall, who was appointed to the board by Gov. Phil Bryant in 2016 as a representative of Rankin County, becomes the ninth President - and the first female to hold the position - since PRVWSD was formed in 1958.

“I am honored to be elected by our Board to serve as President,” Hall said. “I look forward to working with the Board and staff to continue to move forward our PRVWSD.

Hall succeeds Jack Winstead, who stepped down after serving 11 years as Board President. Winstead will remain on the board.

Hall is a reservoir resident, and serves as Executive Director of the Mississippi Manufactured Housing Association.

Also on Thursday, former Board President Billy Cook of Carthage was elected Vice President, and Phillip Crosby of Leake County was re-elected secretary.

The PRVWSD Board of Directors has 14 members, including two each from the counties of Hinds, Madison, Rankin, Leake and Scott. Each county’s board of supervisors appoints one to the board while the Governor picks the other from a list of three nominees from the board of supervisors. The other four members represent state agencies: The Forestry Commission, the Department of Environmental Quality, the Department of Health, and the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks.

Eight of the directors must be leaseholders that reside on PRVWSD property, including both Rankin County and both Madison County board members, plus the four members representing state agencies.

No comments: